It is currently Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:49 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: AmigaOS emulator?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:11 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:45 am
Posts: 2786
Location: Bergen, Norway
Does anyone know if there is a free Amiga emulator available somewhere?
Or a commercial one, but cheap?

_________________
I Stepped On A Cornflake!!! Now I'm A Cereal Killer!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:30 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:35 pm
Posts: 179
Location: Greece,Athens
www.winuae.net ?

_________________
Christos


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:40 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:45 am
Posts: 2786
Location: Bergen, Norway
Wow, very cool.
Thank you so much.

You wouldn't know where I can download some ROM files too would you? :)

_________________
I Stepped On A Cornflake!!! Now I'm A Cereal Killer!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:53 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 3:16 am
Posts: 677
Location: Beyond the sun...
I'm not completely sure what WinUAE does exactly - should I expect to see a desktop? I received the following message when I try to use WinUAE...

You need any following ROM(s)
-kickstart v1.3 (A500,A1000.....
-Kixkstart v1.3 (A3000) rev...

I assume this is similar to MAME where the ROM is required to function? Where would one find the ROM files? I would not mind paying for it if that is the case.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:55 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:45 am
Posts: 2786
Location: Bergen, Norway
Well, if you use a A500 ROM then you'll be in the Amiga 500 screen. And so on.

I want A500 and A1200, those are the ones I had years ago ;)

_________________
I Stepped On A Cornflake!!! Now I'm A Cereal Killer!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:18 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 4:47 am
Posts: 218
Location: Dullsville..population: me
Beach wrote:
I'm not completely sure what WinUAE does exactly - should I expect to see a desktop?


All UAE does is emulate the Amiga hardware, you still need the Kickstart ROMS and the OS disks to do anything on it.

Have a look at AmigaForever by Cloanto, as it comes with licensed ROMS and OS.
I think it also comes as a live CD, running ontop of Knoppix...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 11:42 am 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 5:49 am
Posts: 51
You can allways try this.

You can search on Goole for "Amiga in a Box"

Or just take a look at this. -> http://aiab.emuunlim.com/

Its very old (2002) but Amiga is old also :)

One drawback is the drivers you have to upgrade. (But like it is it works like a charm and its free)

But beside that it is a Real "Amiga in a Box"

AIAB r10b - 4.0mb download installer | download zip | Installation help
This is the main archive. Since version 1.06, any illegal files have been deleted, unfortunately this means MUI works, but doesnt look as pretty, and Directory Opus is nowhere to be seen. However, this allows even the strictest of emulation nuts to download AIAB; as there are no longer *any* unforseen queries regarding piracy. This archive is basically the guts of AIAB - without it you will have problems using the other software, becasue necessary drivers, libraries, system files and assigns will be missing - and because of this I release "patches" to improve and fix any problems. The screenshot below shows of the great programmes you'll find, such as:

Scalos - a wonderful Workbench 'replacment'
MUI 3.8 - easily the nicest GUI of *any* OS
Picasso96 2.1 - setup for a 800x600 16bit Workbench
Newicons 4 - utilising the unique ProIcons set.
Visual Prefs - for easy customisation of the Amigas GUI
MCP - an incredible system friendly 'improver'
MUI-fied replacements - 85% of prefs & system tools
ScreenTab - an intuitive Win95 style menu system
Why not Read the AIAB installation help whilst downloading?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 11:46 am 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 5:49 am
Posts: 51
One other this you can always try "Back to Roots" for Amiga software.

It's Huge ;)


Last edited by ShDancer on Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:48 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 7:10 pm
Posts: 841
I had a Amiga 500, my brother had a amiga 1200.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:27 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 2:30 am
Posts: 36
Amiga roms, kickstart, and workbench are licensed products. I don't think this is a forum for sharing that kind of information.

I think you can still get emulation kits with licensed rom files and os from cloanto and amiga forever.

http://www.amigaforever.com/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:53 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:13 pm
Posts: 670
Location: France
ivory wrote:
Amiga roms, kickstart, and workbench are licensed products. I don't think this is a forum for sharing that kind of information.

I think you can still get emulation kits with licensed rom files and os from cloanto and amiga forever.

http://www.amigaforever.com/


True but dumping the rom from a real Amiga is legal : you can use the transrom and the transdisk tools found in the WinUAE package.

_________________
"Qui baise trop bouffe un poil." P. Desproges

http://karlkox.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:17 am 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 5:49 am
Posts: 51
ivory wrote:
Amiga roms, kickstart, and workbench are licensed products. I don't think this is a forum for sharing that kind of information.

I think you can still get emulation kits with licensed rom files and os from cloanto and amiga forever.

http://www.amigaforever.com/


Yes, that is correct but i think there is some kind of Legal time, for Copyright registration, and i think that time for amiga has expired,
1984-> 2004 = 20 Years, meaning its AbandonedWare only for the first versions.
But im not sure of this.

I'll investigate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AmigaOS emulator?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:11 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:07 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, England (in the United Kingdom)
[quote="GeoTrail"]Does anyone know if there is a free Amiga emulator available somewhere?
Or a commercial one, but cheap?[/quote]

free amiga emulator http://www.winuae.net/ (68K classic amiga emulator)

the bios needed with operation system (and other like amiga related video ) http://www.amigakit.com/ (amiga forever platinum edition) (will be asked for region of your country).
(£60 in UK)
(amigakit.com sells Catweseal MK4 (amiga floppy drive controler for pc )in the first quater of this year to use amiga floppy drives in pc (where dvd-rom go but cut out with amiga floppy drive))


or for bios download with operating system http://www.amigaforver.com/ (about $90 for download) amiga forever plus ((amiga forever platinum (for all eg video and amiga explorer (rip amiga bios)))


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AmigaOS emulator?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:15 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:41 pm
Posts: 461
andrewmann123 wrote:
GeoTrail wrote:
Does anyone know if there is a free Amiga emulator available somewhere?
Or a commercial one, but cheap?


free amiga emulator http://www.winuae.net/ (68K classic amiga emulator)

the bios needed with operation system (and other like amiga related video ) http://www.amigakit.com/ (amiga forever platinum edition) (will be asked for region of your country).
(£60 in UK)
(amigakit.com sells Catweseal MK4 (amiga floppy drive controler for pc )in the first quater of this year to use amiga floppy drives in pc (where dvd-rom go but cut out with amiga floppy drive))


or for bios download with operating system http://www.amigaforver.com/ (about $90 for download) amiga forever plus ((amiga forever platinum (for all eg video and amiga explorer (rip amiga bios)))
...and the point for replying to a 4 year old topic just to state about stuff that has already been talked about?

Cheers,
Irene


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AmigaOS emulator?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:39 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Irene wrote:
and the point for replying to a 4 year old topic just to state about stuff that has already been talked about?

You don't know about the "revive threads after every 4 years or so" rule? What rock have you been hiding under?

:lol: :lol: :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye