PureBasic Forum
http://forums.purebasic.com/english/

AmigaOS emulator?
http://forums.purebasic.com/english/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=12023
Page 2 of 2

Author:  Irene [ Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: AmigaOS emulator?

maw wrote:
Irene wrote:
and the point for replying to a 4 year old topic just to state about stuff that has already been talked about?

You don't know about the "revive threads after every 4 years or so" rule? What rock have you been hiding under?

:lol: :lol: :lol:
GREETINGS PROFESSOR FALKEN.

I have read the book ^.^

Author:  maw [ Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: AmigaOS emulator?

Irene wrote:
GREETINGS PROFESSOR FALKEN.

I have read the book ^.^

Good girl :mrgreen:

Author:  Foz [ Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

Somebody's been playing with the Necrothreadicon again I seen. :roll:

If anyone spots Zombabes, please remember: aim for the head. :twisted:

Author:  Amiga5k [ Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: AmigaOS emulator?

http://www.amigaforever.com/

Their Amiga offerings range between $9.95US (Value Edition) and $49.95US (Premium Edition). Honestly, it's well worth the price if you are interested in running an Amiga emulation. As far as ROMs go, the Value Edition only includes the 1.3 ROM, but this is what 95% of the games out there require. If you're after Apps (such as the excellent Deluxe Paint: One of the easiest - and still powerful - to use paint programs ever), then you'll probably need at least version 2.04.

Good luck!

If you're thinking of doing a google search for the roms, be warned that it is sometimes difficult to find them (other times, not...).

Author:  PB [ Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: AmigaOS emulator?

WinUAE comes with ROMs, doesn't it? It did when I downloaded it (yes, from the legit site).

Author:  Thorium [ Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re:

ShDancer wrote:
ivory wrote:
Yes, that is correct but i think there is some kind of Legal time, for Copyright registration, and i think that time for amiga has expired,
1984-> 2004 = 20 Years, meaning its AbandonedWare only for the first versions.
But im not sure of this.

No. Amiga ROM's are still copyright protected and can still be licenced.
Copyright don't have to be registered. If you create something you automaticly have the copyright. You even don't have to write "Copyright by X" to it. You allways have the copyright.

PB wrote:
WinUAE comes with ROMs, doesn't it? It did when I downloaded it (yes, from the legit site).

No, and it never came.
If you have a package downloaded with the ROM's, than it's not from the official website.

Author:  PB [ Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Re:

> If you have a package downloaded with the ROM's, than it's not from the official website

I got it from www.winuae.net some time back. What else can I say?

Author:  Thorium [ Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Re:

PB wrote:
I got it from http://www.winuae.net some time back. What else can I say?

Maybe you remember wrong. They never had the ROM's included and there is a section in the readme telling you to get the ROM's from another place or dump them.

Author:  Foz [ Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: AmigaOS emulator?

I believe that copyright holds in effect for software is about 70 years. There is a heck of a long way to go before the amiga can be classed as public domain.

Author:  PB [ Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Re:

> Maybe you remember wrong.

Nope. I've only ever used that site to get the app (it's the only place I know). I remember downloading it and seeing the ROMs inside and thinking maybe they were licensed to use them now. So if that's not the case, then I consider myself lucky to get a distro which did have them at the time. Whenever I unzip the distro to a blank folder, the ROMs are in there, ready to go, and I can launch the Amiga to the boot-screen (hand holding the floppy).

I can tell from your response that you obviously don't believe me, but them's the facts. I have no reason to lie to you. It's possible they made a mistake with a distro at some point -- the project was taken over by a new maintainer some time back. Maybe the distro I got was from the old maintainer.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/