It is currently Sun Jul 05, 2020 6:55 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Linux needs X !?
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 8:41 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:51 pm
Posts: 2808
Location: Portugal, Lisbon
Just a noob question...

Will an executable created for linux, in console mode (or even without any kind of interface) run in command line or does it require X to be running ?

_________________
Software: http://xipa.org
Elevator Maintenance: http://central-elevadores.pt
Good web hosting!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 11:52 pm 
Offline
666
666

Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 2:33 pm
Posts: 1033
I was curious about this too, especially if you are writing apps to run on a server machine where you can really do without the overheads of X, gnome,kde etc. I did ask about this a while back too, but it got overlooked I guess.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2004 11:53 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Team
PureBasic Team
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:21 pm
Posts: 5808
Location: Germany
Nope, only for GUI stuff, X (and gtk) is needed.

Timo

_________________
quidquid Latine dictum sit altum videtur


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:04 am 
Offline
666
666

Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 2:33 pm
Posts: 1033
freak wrote:
Nope, only for GUI stuff, X (and gtk) is needed.

Timo


What a damn shame :(. Cheers for the answer though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:07 am 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:58 pm
Posts: 5883
Location: Denmark
why is it a shame? I read it as you CAN make console, and that PB only needs X for GUI apps. :D so its happy news!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:31 am 
Offline
666
666

Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 2:33 pm
Posts: 1033
well you read it differently to me then... I read it as you need X and GTK installed. perhaps I misread or misunderstood? but on a server, why on earth would I want X installed? :) My appologies if I got it wrong.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:38 am 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:58 pm
Posts: 5883
Location: Denmark
Yeah. It would be rather stupid to have x on a server. So if fred or the purebasic team wants pb to be in the linux server enviroment, it needs the functionality to work without X. So i belive it does, because the pb team is pretty smart :D



8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:39 am 
Offline
PureBasic Team
PureBasic Team
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:21 pm
Posts: 5808
Location: Germany
These are the requirements for PB linux programs:

2DDrawing, Window, Gadget, Clipboard libs => GTK 1.2
2D Game libs => SDL 1.2
3D Game libs => OpenGL

Otherwise, you only need the compiled binary. (so no X for console apps 8) )

Timo

_________________
quidquid Latine dictum sit altum videtur


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:41 am 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:58 pm
Posts: 5883
Location: Denmark
I knew i was right :twisted:

Great!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 10:55 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 11:56 am
Posts: 237
I thought Linux PB had no console commands. If I'm wrong where are they, a small sample please.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 11:17 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:51 pm
Posts: 2808
Location: Portugal, Lisbon
Yup... me too...

In the manual it states console commands are windows only :P

I would also appreciate also an "End [ExitCode]" example, cause i can't seem to get any output when the program ends...

Example:
Code:
END "no GUI"

_________________
Software: http://xipa.org
Elevator Maintenance: http://central-elevadores.pt
Good web hosting!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 12:00 pm 
Offline
666
666

Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 2:33 pm
Posts: 1033
freak wrote:
Otherwise, you only need the compiled binary. (so no X for console apps )


Now we're cooking on gas :)

thefool wrote:
I knew i was right :twisted:

Great!


Smart Arse! (nb. to save missunderstanding this means "Show off" in the UK) hehehehehe :twisted:

but anyway, if it'll do console stuff, then thats cool :). I can live with that. And well done to Num3 for bringing back from the dead the question I had forgotten all about :)

my finger is poised on the purchase button right now... but I would REALLY love to be able to download a compiled binary to run a test with, just a basic console style "Hello world" or something, just to make sure it'll run in a server enviroment.

anyway, again. cheers guys :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 2:01 pm 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:58 pm
Posts: 5883
Location: Denmark
LuCiFeR[SD] wrote:
Smart Arse! (nb. to save missunderstanding this means "Show off" in the UK) hehehehehe :twisted:


8) hehe. Nah, just trying to tease you :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye