Help! Program Paths!

Linux specific forum
Num3
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert

Help! Program Paths!

Post by Num3 »

I need help!

Under windows my game seeks the current executable directory for game media, but under linux it doesn't.

I don't wan't to bloat the executable with all the game media included, so i resort to external media packs.

If i run using PBCOMPILER game.pb it loads all media, but if i create a stand alone executable it doesn't...

I know this has to do with the paths you should store things, but i'm a linux newbie and can't get it rigth.

1. Can one define a path for the game directory? Something like Path=/usr/mygame/

2. If not, can anyone tell me how to solve this problem with code?
I've been using a smart routine by Freak, but that does not work under Knoppix, it crashes the game :(

Maybe on next releases Fred can include the CurrentPath() to both windows and linux, so we can solve this!

Thanks in advance...
Saboteur
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by Saboteur »

It seems like program is executed from /home/user directory.
Executing the program by command line, it works ok, but executing from desktop, the result is different.

Try:

Code: Select all

examinedirectory(0,".","*")

while(nextdirectoryentry())
  file.s+directoryentryname()+chr(10)
wend
messagerequester("Info","Files:"+chr(10)+file)

end
From command line, you must get files from local directory, but from konqueror/nautilus... what do you get? Your /home files?

Somebody asked for a method to read the output from other programs, and that could be a solution. You could execute "pwd" or another utility and capture the exit string in purebasic programs.

Another solution is to write a hide config file in home directory (like .myconfigfile), where you write the true path to your program. And you allways can access to that file ( ./.myconfigfile ).
[:: PB Registered ::]

Win10 Intel core i5-3330 8GB RAM Nvidia GTX 1050Ti
Beach
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by Beach »