Page 1 of 1

Helpful Gtk-Debugger found - usable for PB too!

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:34 pm
by Oma
I just stumbled across a useful tool for Gtk programming - and also PureBasic :
A debugger for Gtk3 dialog structures - also usable for PureBasic as I just noticed.

See this link: https://wiki.gnome.org/action/show/Proj ... FInspector

It works as described:
- Start it from the console with 'gsettings set org.gtk.Settings.Debug enable-inspector-keybinding true'.
- Start your PB Gtk application (also possible from the PB-IDE)
- Activate the Gtk-debugger with <Shift><Ctrl><I>
- You can e.g. select CSSnodes in the ComboBox and use the arrow in the title bar to select your complete window, parts of it or another applications elements. The structure and settings will be displayed immediately.

Ingenious!
Regards, Charly

Re: Helpful Gtk-Debugger found - usable for PB too!

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 8:55 pm
by mk-soft
Thanks :wink:

Re: Helpful Gtk-Debugger found - usable for PB too!

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:51 pm
by ccode
Interesting!

Now all I have to do is fix a Python problem, because PyGTK does not work for me.
PyGtk can not be installed:
"pip install PyGTK":

Complete output from command python setup.py egg_info:
************************************************** ******************
* Building PyGTK using distutils is only supported on windows. *
* To build PyGTK in a supported way, read the INSTALL file. *
************************************************** ******************

----------------------------------------
Command "python setup.py egg_info" failed with error code 1 in / tmp / pip-build-pHnvVz / PyGTK /


But GTK3 runs with Python:
import gi
gi.require_version ('gtk', '3.0')
from gi.repository import Gtk

Re: Helpful Gtk-Debugger found - usable for PB too!

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 10:58 pm
by ccode
OK!
I have not really got it yet, but when I go to the help menu at the terminal, I can see the "thing", via the entry: "Inspekteur" open.

Great thing!
I'll try to get more information.

Image

Are these all "text-label" in the depths of the "TreeViews"?