It is currently Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:32 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Network play
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:28 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:16 pm
Posts: 124
Location: United Kingdom
Is adding netplay over the internet or LAN difficult to do? Here's what I want to do:

Let's say I have a four player game, simulataneous play on one PC. I want to have the option of selecting the controls for each player, or have them be controlled by a remote player on a network or the internet.

Anyone done a game with netplay? If so, is it a massive undertaking?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:58 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 3:52 pm
Posts: 1648
Its massive especially the first time. But it also depends on how complicated you make it. I recommend finding some ebooks on it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:24 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:16 pm
Posts: 124
Location: United Kingdom
Hehehe, better leave it then I think. Making a game is hard enough as it is.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: might help...
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 1:23 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 711
Am currently fiddling myself some Examples together for Netplay ( Well messages are easy .. tho keepin a real game synced is .. ugh ) atm.
If you haven't time to read big into TCP/IP you could use
Kylars Netlib:
http://www.krylarskreations.com/knl.shtml

am atm testing some stuff with it atm bc. the compiled example is horrid =P

Otherwise you could use DirectPlay() .. heres a little Tutorial on gamesdev.net ( good site btw, lots of ressources )
http://www.gamedev.net/reference/progra ... res/dplay/

..its not PB but you might get a lil insight into whats behind it at least.

Hope this helps...

Thalius


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 2:10 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:16 pm
Posts: 124
Location: United Kingdom
Thanks, but I've decided to abandon netplay for the moment. I need to concentrate on finishing the game.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:14 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:12 pm
Posts: 2446
Location: Norway
It's not too hard, try making a chat program first. :wink:

_________________
I like logic, hence I dislike humans but love computers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:32 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:47 am
Posts: 1857
Location: Argentina
I'd say that would help a lot if you're just starting!
After that, go for more!

a 2d screen with 2 circles (each circle a player) you should update their movement based on X milliseconds (say half a second or less) and reflect the new data on the graphics.

once you've got that nailed, implement some linear interpolation on the values, so the movement would be smooth with out having to send lots and lots of data every 10ms or so (heh that wouldnt help you much anyway on the net, wouldnt be a good idea at all!).

once thats ready and working, you're ready to implement networking on your game..

_________________
! Black holes are where God divided by zero !
My little blog!
(Not for the faint hearted!)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:21 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:16 am
Posts: 2087
Location: Germany
http://www.shadowturtle.de/sacede.zip

MMORPG Example with Blitzbasic or whatever(how many Blitzes are aviable?)

_________________
bye,
Daniel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:25 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:47 am
Posts: 1857
Location: Argentina
...BlitzBasic IS the language, not a package. The released packages by blitz research that included "blitzbasic" language were:

Blitz2D (dx7 based)
Blitz+ (includes blitz2d + windows gui)
Blitz3D (dx7 based)

thats it.

the new bmax doesnt use blitzbasic, but a new variant of it. (kind of a "c" wannabe)

(you still want to stay away from any of those packages ;!!)

(laughs)

an MMORPG server in blitzbasic .. good one!!!!!!
pff ahahahah!! still laugthing here :)
How childish :/ They should of used C at least for such thing, mmorpg servers could be very loaded, and using bb is definetly not a good idea to process all that data. It might just be an exercise project I hope for their sake.

_________________
! Black holes are where God divided by zero !
My little blog!
(Not for the faint hearted!)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:39 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:16 am
Posts: 2087
Location: Germany
dagcrack wrote:
How childish :/ They should of used C at least for such thing, mmorpg servers could be very loaded, and using bb is definetly not a good idea to process all that data. It might just be an exercise project I hope for their sake.


They? It was just one who programmed. And he is good, very good. I don't know much about BlitzWhatever.

_________________
bye,
Daniel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:10 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 711
am gonna hack some example server / linux / windows together.. eg somethin to fill out as base for a simple lil gameserver.

Posting once i erradicated the bugs ... =P

Thalius


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 8:53 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:19 pm
Posts: 1808
Location: Emerald Cove, Unformed
dagcrack wrote:
an MMORPG server in blitzbasic .. good one!!!!!!
pff ahahahah!! still laugthing here :)
How childish :/ They should of used C at least for such thing, mmorpg servers could be very loaded, and using bb is definetly not a good idea to process all that data. It might just be an exercise project I hope for their sake.


(laughs)

Should use C for such thing? haahha, hahaha, good one, I hope for your sake, your just kidding. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:51 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:47 am
Posts: 1857
Location: Argentina
Well this is a purebasic forum isnt it, this is basic. isnt it a joke, it could be. Depends on your sense of humour.

I hope you Dont dare to compare the speed of C against BB because I will make you have sex with mark sibley. You cant compare them, C is fast, BB isnt. Thats the whole story. You sure can programm slow code in C as you can in BB, however the entire bundle is slow. That is no excuse. You cant host 100.000+ players in a B3D based server, the performance would not even be close to 60% as if was made in C.

If you don't believe me, I really don't care.
:wink:

I have my proven reasons for this.

_________________
! Black holes are where God divided by zero !
My little blog!
(Not for the faint hearted!)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:53 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:47 am
Posts: 1857
Location: Argentina
DarkDragon wrote:
dagcrack wrote:
How childish :/ They should of used C at least for such thing, mmorpg servers could be very loaded, and using bb is definetly not a good idea to process all that data. It might just be an exercise project I hope for their sake.


They? It was just one who programmed. And he is good, very good. I don't know much about BlitzWhatever.


Good? good for your standards :wink:

_________________
! Black holes are where God divided by zero !
My little blog!
(Not for the faint hearted!)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 5:27 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:16 am
Posts: 2087
Location: Germany
dagcrack wrote:
DarkDragon wrote:
dagcrack wrote:
How childish :/ They should of used C at least for such thing, mmorpg servers could be very loaded, and using bb is definetly not a good idea to process all that data. It might just be an exercise project I hope for their sake.


They? It was just one who programmed. And he is good, very good. I don't know much about BlitzWhatever.


Good? good for your standards :wink:


Would his mapeditor be sold then? :roll: I know I know I'm a noob, nobody has to tell me this.

_________________
bye,
Daniel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye