Tools: How to copy an executable after "Create executable"

Working on new editor enhancements?
spacewalker
User
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:35 pm
Location: Germany

Tools: How to copy an executable after "Create executable"

Post by spacewalker »

Hello,

I try to add a tool that copies my .DLL to another PC after I execute "Create Executable"
(Basically the whole "tool" is a simple copy command)

I use "Tools" - "Configure tools" with the following settings:

command line :
copy "C:\test\myDLL.dll" "\\Testserver2\c$\test" /Y

Event to Trigger the Tool:
After Create Executable

If I run the commandline manually in a console it works.
But it doesn't work when I create a new executable of my DLL

So how would I copy my compiled .DLL to another PC using "Tools" ?
(I use PB 5.21 on Windows7)

thanks
User avatar
Danilo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3037
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Tools: How to copy an executable after "Create executabl

Post by Danilo »

I think 'copy' is a command within the command line interpreter 'cmd'.

Searching for "cmd command line switches" leads me to:
- Microsoft Windows XP - Cmd

So i think the command should be just "cmd" or "cmd.exe", and the argument should be

Code: Select all

/c copy "C:\test\myDLL.dll" "\\Testserver2\c$\test" /Y
'/c' means it executes the following command.

Test it with:

Code: Select all

RunProgram("cmd","/c copy "+#DQUOTE$+"C:\test\myDLL.dll"+#DQUOTE$+" "+#DQUOTE$+"\\Testserver2\c$\test"+#DQUOTE$+" /Y","")
spacewalker
User
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:35 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Tools: How to copy an executable after "Create executabl

Post by spacewalker »

thank you, it works!
Post Reply