Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Working on new editor enhancements?
User avatar
oreopa
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 281
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland.

Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by oreopa »

Hi, I tried a quick search but didnt really find anything about this...

Basically, what I'd really appreciate is if the #PB_Any constant was always at the top of the list after typing "#PB" (3 chars to open autocomplete option). Is there a simple way to do this?

Additionally I'd like the ability to exclude some libraries from autocomplete based on my needs. Any suggestions?

Thx.
Proud supporter of PB! * Musician * C64/6502 Freak
Dude
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1907
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by Dude »

The AutoComplete list should be a plain text file that the editor loads on launch, from top to bottom order. That way, the user can chop and change it to his personal preferences.
sancho2
User
User
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by sancho2 »

Use -1 instead. 2 characters. However +1 to your request.
User avatar
Shield
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:25 am
Location: 'stralia!
Contact:

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by Shield »

Well, actually these things should be context-sensitive, i.e when you're on the flags parameter in OpenWindow(),
the editor should just show the allowed window flags or at least put them on top.

jaPBe already implemented this years ago. :wink:
Image
Blog: Why Does It Suck? (http://whydoesitsuck.com/)
"You can disagree with me as much as you want, but during this talk, by definition, anybody who disagrees is stupid and ugly."
- Linus Torvalds
mestnyi
Addict
Addict
Posts: 995
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 6:41 am

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by mestnyi »

Shield +1
User avatar
Bisonte
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:15 am

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by Bisonte »

I also wish the way japbe does it, Shield 8)
PureBasic 6.04 LTS (Windows x86/x64) | Windows10 Pro x64 | Asus TUF X570 Gaming Plus | R9 5900X | 64GB RAM | GeForce RTX 3080 TI iChill X4 | HAF XF Evo | build by vannicom​​
English is not my native language... (I often use DeepL to translate my texts.)
davido
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1890
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 pm
Location: Uttoxeter, UK

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by davido »

I like Shield's suggestion. So ...
+1
DE AA EB
User avatar
Kiffi
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 1:20 pm
Location: Amphibios 9

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by Kiffi »

+1 for Shields suggestion.

#PB_Any is one of the Constants where Autocomplete doesn't help:

Image
(it took more keystokes to reach #PB_Any in the list than to type #PB_Any)

If this is to sophisticated: An editable AutoComplete-List could be very useful because i personally never never never use these AntialiasingModes.

Greetings ... Peter
Hygge
uwekel
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:54 pm
Location: Oldenburg (Germany)

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by uwekel »

Maybe it is easier to list the most recently used ones at top of the list.
PB 5.70 LTS (x64) - Debian Testing, Gnome 3.30.2
User avatar
oreopa
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 281
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland.

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by oreopa »

Shall I make a feature request encompassing the suggestions here?

IDEAL: jaPBe style "context sensitive autocomplete"

NICE: Configurable/editable autocomplete list(s), perhaps allowing certain libraries to be excluded easily from the list from the prefs UI, and also allowing #PB_Any (or other consts) to be at the top of the list.

OK, THAT'LL DO: Just make #PB_Any at the top of the list!

In the meantime, I have of course solved my main issue in another way: making small scintilla tool to insert "#PB_Any" on keycombo :P However, we probably do need some autocomplete love, overall...

I'll compose a FR tomorrow or so...
Proud supporter of PB! * Musician * C64/6502 Freak
Dude
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1907
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Make #PB_Any the first constant in autocomplete?

Post by Dude »

Here's another way:

Code: Select all

Macro PB_Any
  #PB_Any
EndMacro

ButtonGadget(PB_Any,...)
Post Reply