Landlubber (Mini-Roguelike)

Applications, Games, Tools, User libs and useful stuff coded in PureBasic
diceman
User
User

Landlubber (Mini-Roguelike)

Post by diceman »

Ahoy brave Buccaneers! :-)
Roughly 2 weeks ago I attended a local GameJam, where in the course of 10 hours I've managed to program a very basic Roguelike in PureBasic. In the days to follow I've further tweaked my game, added features, striving to make it a more complete experience, that's actually fun to play. Even if it's pretty random and not very deep, it's still my very 1st released Roguelike and I'm pretty damn proud I made it that far. It has a certain arcade-y feel to it, not to be taken too seriously. And I'm no big artist, so please don't ask me for better graphics, because I can't provide you with that, sorry.
All Audio has been downloaded from freeSound.org.
But I'd be very happy if you try it out and give me feedback, so I can improve on the concept, and make my next game even better.

--> check below for most recent Download Link!

Story:
You're a mighty Pirate on "Treasure Cove Island", who's out on an adventure to find as much Booty as you can carry. There's Monsters all around, you have to mind starvation, and at the end of the day, if you didn't manage to find more than half of all Doubloons lying around on each map, your ungrateful crew will make you dance the Hempen Jig.
Maps are created randomly, and will get bigger and bigger and harder and harder to navigate.

Gameplay:
Have and eye out on your Stamina (the orange bar in the bottom right corner), once it's depleted, you'll die of starvation. You'll lose Stamina by walking around, by unsuccessfully attacking, and Monsters in the vicinity will also cause you to lose Stamina faster. On some Tilesets, for example the Dungeon, you'll lose Stamina faster than on other Tilesets.
You also die when you lose your last Skull.