PB 6.0 - ideas

Got an idea for enhancing PureBasic? New command(s) you'd like to see?
User avatar
marcoagpinto
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 717
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:01 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by marcoagpinto »

Hello Freddy and Team,

Here are my ideas for PB 6:

1) Command SORT to allow sorting words naturally (with accents), using a special flag: #Natural or #Latin;

2) Allow to indent the columns of ListIconGadgets;

3) Allow icons (PNGs) in columns of ListIconGadgets;

4) Invalid values inserted in gadgets should turn red the input area (I am doing it using my own procedure actually);

5) IDE cache: Changing tabs in the IDE shouldn't refresh the right panel since it takes time and changes the current position;

6) The icon in Linux! You guys said it doesn't work with all Linuxes but I have been using the code a user supplied and so far it appears in Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, so why not using the icon from the settings and try to use it in Linux? If it doesn't work in some, what is the issue? Provided it doesn't crash, there is no real issue in Linux;

7) Create a command that moves the text cursor to a position in a text gadget, for example: an Editor Gadget.

The points above are very important.

Thanks!

Kind regards from,
>Marco A.G.Pinto
----------------
User avatar
TI-994A
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2490
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:47 am
Location: Singapore

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by TI-994A »

marcoagpinto wrote:The points above are very important.
They always are. 8)
Texas Instruments TI-99/4A Home Computer: the first home computer with a 16bit processor, crammed into an 8bit architecture. Great hardware - Poor design - Wonderful BASIC engine. And it could talk too!
akee
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:52 am
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by akee »

Have a librarian that can compile PureBasic code... Tailbite has served us well...
User avatar
netmaestro
PureBasic Bullfrog
PureBasic Bullfrog
Posts: 8204
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:42 am
Location: Fort Nelson, BC, Canada

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by netmaestro »

+1 for the compiler output option ->PB library, would be a very nice tool to have. Tailbite authors are working at a significant disadvantage not having fulltime access to all PB internals.
BERESHEIT
Mistrel
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:04 pm

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by Mistrel »

akee wrote:Have a librarian that can compile PureBasic code... Tailbite has served us well...
+1
Ulix
User
User
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:45 pm
Location: France, Montpellier

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by Ulix »

Google translation

Hello everyone

I would add:
automatic management of the scrolling in the DragNDrop, on listicon Tree and gadgets,
also seems important to remain perfectly multiplaformes.

En francais :

Bonjour a tous

Je désire rajouter :
La gestion automatique du scrolling dans le DragNdrop, sur les gadgets listicon et Tree,
me semble aussi important, afin de reste parfaitement multiplaformes.

a +
User avatar
Mohawk70
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by Mohawk70 »

Mistrel wrote:
akee wrote:Have a librarian that can compile PureBasic code... Tailbite has served us well...
+1
If this alone was added to the next major release, I'd gladly purchase a 2nd license !
User avatar
es_91
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:00 pm
Location: DE

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by es_91 »

The icon could be overworked as well as the entire project management could be improved:

>> no standard storage in administrator preserved paths (C:\Program files\...)
>> suitable for larger projects means hirarchy of includes and source codes
>> more ...

I'd love to see PB 6.0 becoming enterprise-suitable somehow
akee
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:52 am
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by akee »

Something I miss in PB programming is variable arguments. Like C's va_arg() or PHP func_get_arg()...
User avatar
Keya
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:10 am

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by Keya »

the beauty of Purebasic is that it's such a good compiler that it's given us all the tools we need to be able to write our own kickass programs, get wealthy from them, and then be able to invest the money in Fred to implement our favorite ideas, maybe even hiring an extra coder for specific tasks :D
Ok me back to work
User avatar
StarBootics
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Canada

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by StarBootics »

My wish :

Allow procedure defined in Module to have the same name as existing command defined in standard libraries. The same name of procedure can be used in many Module :

Code: Select all

Options::Reset()
Language::Reset()
Potato::Reset()
...
Currently impossible now because it will be impossible to tell the difference in a situation where UseModule/UnuseModule is used like in this example :

Code: Select all

DeclareModule Triad
  
  Structure Triad
    
    Origin.Vector3::Vector3
    Tangent.Vector3::Vector3
    Normal.Vector3::Vector3
    Binormal.Vector3::Vector3
    
  EndStructure
  
  Declare.i GetOrigin(*TriadA.Triad, *P_Origin.Vector3::Vector3 = #Null)
  Declare SetOrigin(*TriadA.Triad, *P_Origin.Vector3::Vector3) ; --> This instruction is in conflict with 2D Drawing SetOrigin()
  
EndDeclareModule

Module Triad
  
  Procedure.i GetOrigin(*TriadA.Triad, *P_Origin.Vector3::Vector3 = #Null)
    
    If *P_Origin <> #Null
      Vector3::Copy(*TriadA\Origin, *P_Origin)
    Else
      ProcedureReturn *TriadA\Origin
    EndIf
    
  EndProcedure
  
  Procedure SetOrigin(*TriadA.Triad, *P_Origin.Vector3::Vector3)
    
    Vector3::Copy(*P_Origin, *TriadA\Origin)
    
  EndProcedure
  
EndModule

UseModule Triad

SetOrigin(MyTriad.Triad, Origin.Vector3::Vector3) ; Here I can understand that the compiler can be lost between SetOrigin() from Triad Module and SetOrigin() from Drawing library

If CreateImage(0, 200, 200, 24, $FFFFFF) And StartDrawing(ImageOutput(0))
  
  ; Dessine la même figure à différents endroits en déplaçant l'origine dessin
  For x = 0 To 120 Step 40
    For y = 0 To 120 Step 60
      SetOrigin(X, Y)
      Box(0, 0, 30, 30, $FF0000)
      Circle(15, 15, 10, $00FF00)
    Next y
  Next x   
  
  StopDrawing() 
  ImageGadget(0, 0, 0, 200, 200, ImageID(0))      
EndIf

UnuseModule

Triad::SetOrigin(MyTriad.Triad::Triad, Origin.Vector3::Vector3); Here there is absolutely no reason for the compiler to be lost 
Perhaps the UseModule/UnuseModule feature should be reconsidered after all. If UseModule/UnuseModule is used with a Module containing a command with the same name as an existing command should raise an error and not when you are Declaring a Module and it's content. Sometime I can find a synonym for a variable name that will change command name but it's not always possible.

Best regards
StarBootics
The Stone Age did not end due to a shortage of stones !
User avatar
marcoagpinto
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 717
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:01 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by marcoagpinto »

Someone in LibreOffice mentioned a "UTF-8" sorting...

Fred, is there a way of adding it to sort?
wilbert
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 3746
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 5:21 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by wilbert »

marcoagpinto wrote:Someone in LibreOffice mentioned a "UTF-8" sorting...
Are the results different from Ascii ?
The way UTF-8 is encoded, it think you could also sort it as if it were Ascii :?
macOS 10.15 Catalina, Windows 10
User avatar
marcoagpinto
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 717
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:01 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by marcoagpinto »

wilbert wrote:
marcoagpinto wrote:Someone in LibreOffice mentioned a "UTF-8" sorting...
Are the results different from Ascii ?
The way UTF-8 is encoded, it think you could also sort it as if it were Ascii :?
Well, my pt-PT autocorrect patch for LibreOffice wasn't approved twice because of the sorting.

I had to create a file with just the new words and then sort it with the algorithm I created weeks ago. :cry:

Only then it was approved.
akee
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:52 am
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: PB 6.0 - ideas

Post by akee »

Only 4 users want a librarian? :shock:
Post Reply