It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:53 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 2:44 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3568
Location: Utah, USA
When any expression is used for an issue (i.e. \bTODO\b ) the issue is not marked (has the issue background color changed) but does display in the following source code (for either line):
Code:
Procedure.i test(a.s) ;TODO no highlighting
  ;TODO no highlighting


Highlighting is shown for both lines if the source code is changed to this (or has a variety of other characters added or removed):
Code:
Proce2dure.i test(a.s) ;TODO no highlighting
  ;TODO no highlighting

_________________
Image


Last edited by Demivec on Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b3(x64) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 8:38 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Posts: 1981
Location: Germany
What exactly do you mean? Here it works, maybe because I'm using the x86 version.

_________________
If any of you native English speakers have any suggestions for the above text, please let me know (via PM). Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b3(x64) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:19 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 862
Location: Germany
Try ; TODO with a space before.

_________________
Sorry for my English. My language is German.
(Translated with http://www.DeepL.com/Translator)

Download of PureBasic - Modules (GitHub)

[Windows 10 x64] [PB V5.7x]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b3(x64) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:58 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3568
Location: Utah, USA
c4s wrote:
What exactly do you mean? Here it works, maybe because I'm using the x86 version.

@c4s: I mean when the source code is as I showed and the expression for the issue is as I showed, neither of the two comment lines are highlighted even though they show under the Issues Tab in the PB IDE.

When I change the text from the source to match the second text example (by typing a 2 in the word 'Procedure') then both comments become highlighted in addition to being listed under the Issues tab in the PB IDE.

I appreciate the comments regarding the x86 version. When I get a moment I will have to install that version to test it there also.


Thorsten1867 wrote:
Try ; TODO with a space before.

@Thorsten1867: Thanks for the suggestion but it doesn't change the situation.

As I stated in my explanation the lines match the 'issue expression' as it is written and are displayed in the Issues Tab. However they are either both highlighted or both not highlighted based on text that would seem to be totally separate from the comments. On the one hand, the text is before the comment and not a part of it and on the other hand, the text is not even on the same line.


I had first noticed that when loading a source with 'issues' that are supposed to be both highlighted and displayed under the Issues Tab the issues don't seem to be highlighted until the cursor is moved over the line where they are. However I stumbled on the situation where no amount of massaging would cause issues to be displayed after a certain source line. They would be displayed before but not on or after that line (for the rest of the source).

I narrowed down one instance that shows this and posted it above. There may be more than one factor causing it and I've found other examples where it happens. I just need to find one where someone can confirm the bug.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b3(x64) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 7:59 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Posts: 1981
Location: Germany
Demivec wrote:
@c4s: I mean when the source code is as I showed and the expression for the issue is as I showed, neither of the two comment lines are highlighted even though they show under the Issues Tab in the PB IDE.
Sorry, I'm still not able to reproduce it. To do so I pasted your sample code and changed the TODO expression from \bTODO\b.* to \bTODO\b:
Image
Both are highlighted and shown in the Issue Tool. Of course with ".*" the whole line will be highlighted and shown.

_________________
If any of you native English speakers have any suggestions for the above text, please let me know (via PM). Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b3(x64) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:58 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3568
Location: Utah, USA
Here's my screenshots (please, no comments on the color selection :) ).

Non-working:
Image

Working:
Image


It doesn't matter what the expression is, it will match but not highligh in these situations. To show you, here is your example:

Non-working:
Image

Working:
Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b3(x64) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 5:30 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3568
Location: Utah, USA
This is not a bump, just wanted to add a little more info.

I verified this happening with the x86 version as well as the the 64bit version.

The non-commented text can also be shortened to the following sample (incomplete code statement) to prevent issue highlights showing up for it and all the lines following it.
Code:
Procedure.i c ;TODO no highlighting
;TODO no highlighting


As was true before, if any characters are added to the text before the '.' then highlighting will start to work. If either a '(' or a ')' are added to the text after the '.' but before the 'c' then highlighting will turn on also. Other characters added after the '.' don't seem to cause any change and leave the issues unhighlighted but still displayed in the issues tab.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:54 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Posts: 1981
Location: Germany
Sorry Demivec, I'm still not able to reproduce it... ;)

I copy and paste your above code into a new tab and it's immediately highlighted (PB 5.30b4, Windows 8.1, x86).

Edit:
What I just found out is that when switching the encoding from Utf8 to Plain Text (I have Utf8 enabled by default) all highlighting is gone until I select the Issue code part.

_________________
If any of you native English speakers have any suggestions for the above text, please let me know (via PM). Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:47 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3568
Location: Utah, USA
c4s wrote:
What I just found out is that when switching the encoding from Utf8 to Plain Text (I have Utf8 enabled by default) all highlighting is gone until I select the Issue code part.

I have Utf8 on by default also. After your remark about plain text demonstrating the problem I switched my settings from Utf8 to Plain Text and back again but still wasn't able to get it to show highlighting with the sample of problem text.

I appreciate your attempts to confirm this. I'll just have to sit back until more people experience it.

Because it seems to happen with the phrase 'procedure.' it should crop up more.


I'm also using windows 8.1 x64.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:07 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:15 am
Posts: 1078
Have you try to delete your prefs manually, or start PB with the /PORTABLE flag ?

Sometimes there are some very fascinated issues, if you hold the preferences from one pb-version to another....
So try to start the IDE with a fresh preferences environment.

Maybe this helps...

_________________
PureBasic 5.70 LTS (Windows x86/x64) | Windows10 Pro x64 | Z370 Extreme4 | i7 8770k | 32GB RAM | iChill GeForce GTX 980 X4 Ultra | HAF XF Evo​​
English is not my native language... (I often use DeepL to translate my texts.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:44 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3568
Location: Utah, USA
Bisonte wrote:
Have you try to delete your prefs manually, or start PB with the /PORTABLE flag ?

Sometimes there are some very fascinated issues, if you hold the preferences from one pb-version to another....
So try to start the IDE with a fresh preferences environment.

Maybe this helps...


@Bisonte: I thank you for your suggestions.

I exported my preferences and then reinstalled the 64bit version to a clean directory and set it to load with the /PORTABLE flag.

I then loaded it and pasted the sample of problem code above, it highlighted correctly.

I then opened and imported my previously exported preferences. When I then applied them the highlighting went off.

So it would seem the preferences are affecting things. I've tried comparing the text of the preference files, the default one with the one after the imported settings.

My final conclusion is that I found that if the BackgroundColor setting was RGB(255,255,223) the highlights were shown, if it was RGB(255,255,210) then it wasn't shown. Other randomly picked values for color didn't work either. It didn't matter if the value was placed in the preference value before loading (as a single integer) or if the values were selected in the preference window, both resulted in the same effect.


Here is a copy of the default colors (working):
Code:
ASMKeywordColor = 7490450
BackgroundColor = 14680063
BasicKeywordColor = 6710784
CommentColor = 11184640
ConstantColor = 7490450
LabelColor = 0
NormalTextColor = 0
NumberColor = 0
OperatorColor = 0
PointerColor = 0
PureKeywordColor = 6710784
SeparatorColor = 0
StringColor = 16744448
StructureColor = 0
LineNumberColor = 8421504
LineNumberBackColor = 14155775
MarkerColor = 11184640
CurrentLineColor = 12058623
SelectionColor = 16750899
SelectionFrontColor = 16777215
CursorColor = 0
Debugger_LineColor = 16771304
Debugger_LineSymbolColor = 16771304
Debugger_ErrorColor = 255
Debugger_ErrorSymbolColor = 255
Debugger_BreakPointColor = 16776960
Debugger_BreakpoinSymbolColor = 16776960
DisabledBackColor = 16316664
GoodBraceColor = 6710784
BadBraceColor = 255
ProcedureBackColor = 14680063
CustomKeywordColor = 6684672
Debugger_WarningColor = 53503
Debugger_WarningSymbolColor = 53503
IndentColor = 11184640
ModuleColor = 0
SelectionRepeatColor = 11009968


My colors which did not work according to the scenario described in the first message):
Code:
ASMKeywordColor = 128
BackgroundColor = 13828095
BasicKeywordColor = 0
CommentColor = 11184640
ConstantColor = 33023
LabelColor = 0
NormalTextColor = 0
NumberColor = 16711808
OperatorColor = 16512
PointerColor = 16711680
PureKeywordColor = 32768
SeparatorColor = 128
StringColor = 255
StructureColor = 8388608
LineNumberColor = 0
LineNumberBackColor = 15000804
MarkerColor = 11184640
CurrentLineColor = 12582911
SelectionColor = 16777143
SelectionFrontColor = 0
CursorColor = 0
Debugger_LineColor = 16771304
Debugger_LineSymbolColor = 16771304
Debugger_ErrorColor = 255
Debugger_ErrorSymbolColor = 255
Debugger_BreakPointColor = 16776960
Debugger_BreakpoinSymbolColor = 16776960
DisabledBackColor = 0
DisabledBackColor_Disabled = 1
GoodBraceColor = 6710784
BadBraceColor = 255
ProcedureBackColor = 14680063
CustomKeywordColor = 6684672
Debugger_WarningColor = 53503
Debugger_WarningSymbolColor = 53503
IndentColor = 11184640
ModuleColor = 0
SelectionRepeatColor = 11009968


Out of all these the BackgroundColor seemed to be at least one determining factor.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:39 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:28 pm
Posts: 701
Location: $300:20 58 FC 60 - Vietnam
I also have the same behaviour (Windows 8.1 x64)
Tried PB530 x86 and x64 : same
BUT:
If the TODO is outside a procedure, it works

_________________
“Fear is a reaction. Courage is a decision.” - WC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:45 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:28 pm
Posts: 701
Location: $300:20 58 FC 60 - Vietnam
Another behaviour, in the preferences when you checked the option "Show in procedure browser", you cannot unchecked it.

_________________
“Fear is a reaction. Courage is a decision.” - WC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:07 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3568
Location: Utah, USA
flaith wrote:
If the TODO is outside a procedure, it work

@flaith: According to what you said, when I use this sample it highlights only the last TODO:
Code:
Procedure.i c ;TODO no highlighting
              ;TODO no highlighting
EndProcedure ;TODO no highlighting
;TODO no highlighting
 


flaith wrote:
Another behaviour, in the preferences when you checked the option "Show in procedure browser", you cannot unchecked it.


For this, I believe you need to click update, and apply.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 5.30b4(x64, x86) Issue marking not activating
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:12 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:28 pm
Posts: 701
Location: $300:20 58 FC 60 - Vietnam
Demivec wrote:
flaith wrote:
Another behaviour, in the preferences when you checked the option "Show in procedure browser", you cannot unchecked it.

For this, I believe you need to click update, and apply.


Ouch! :oops:
Thanks :D

_________________
“Fear is a reaction. Courage is a decision.” - WC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye