PureBasic Forum
http://forums.purebasic.com/english/

PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting parent
http://forums.purebasic.com/english/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=74526
Page 1 of 1

Author:  kurzer [ Sun Feb 02, 2020 5:48 pm ]
Post subject:  PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting parent

PB 572 b1 x64 / Windows 7 x64 SP1 classic design

IDE / formdesigner: There is a small display problem in the assignment dialog for setting a parent object. At least for the german version of PB.

Image

Greetings
Kurzer

Author:  Sicro [ Sun Feb 02, 2020 7:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

I have adjusted the size of the gadgets and the window.
Under Linux, it looks good for me now. Unfortunately I can't test it under Windows.

Before the fix:
Image

After the fix:
Image

PR on GitHub: https://github.com/fantaisie-software/purebasic/pull/50

Author:  kurzer [ Sat Mar 07, 2020 3:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

PB 5.72 b2 x64:

It looks better now, but have much free space to the left.
Also the height of the comboxboxes is to big. Maybe its caused by the DPI adjusting within the FormDesigner? My desktopscale is set to 125%.

Image

Author:  Sicro [ Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

I think it is better to always use the Dialog-Lib when it comes to cross-platform GUI creation.
In the next days I will create the window using the Dialog-Lib and post the code here for testing.

Author:  Sicro [ Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

How it looks now under my Linux:
Image


Here is the code for testing. I hope the window always looks good now.
Code:
Runtime Enumeration Window
  #WINDOW_Form_Parent
EndEnumeration

Runtime Enumeration Gadget
  #GADGET_Form_Parent_Select
  #GADGET_Form_Parent_SelectItem
  #GADGET_Form_Parent_Cancel
  #GADGET_Form_Parent_OK
EndEnumeration

XML$ = "<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?>" +
"<dialogs>" +
"  <window flags='#PB_Window_SystemMenu | #PB_Window_ScreenCentered' text='Übergeordnet' id='#WINDOW_Form_Parent'>" +
"    <vbox spacing='10'>" +
"      <empty/>" +
"      <gridbox colspacing='15' rowspacing='15' columns='4'>" +
"        <empty/>" +
"        <text text='Übergeordnet' flags='#PB_Text_Right'/>" +
"        <combobox height='22' width='250' id='#GADGET_Form_Parent_Select'/>" +
"        <empty/>" +
"        <empty/>" +
"        <text text='Übergeordnetes Element' flags='#PB_Text_Right'/>" +
"        <combobox height='22' width='250' id='#GADGET_Form_Parent_SelectItem'/>" +
"        <empty/>" +
"      </gridbox>" +
"      <empty/>" +
"      <hbox>" +
"        <empty/>" +
"        <button text='Abbruch' id='#GADGET_Form_Parent_Cancel'/>" +
"        <button text='OK' id='#GADGET_Form_Parent_OK'/>" +
"        <empty/>" +
"      </hbox>" +
"      <empty/>" +
"    </vbox>" +
"  </window>" +
"</dialogs>"

If ParseXML(0, XML$) And XMLStatus(0) = #PB_XML_Success
 
  If CreateDialog(0) And OpenXMLDialog(0, 0, "")
   
    For i = 0 To 2
      AddGadgetItem(#GADGET_Form_Parent_Select, -1, "Select_" + i)
      AddGadgetItem(#GADGET_Form_Parent_SelectItem, -1, "SelectItem_" + i)
    Next
   
    Repeat
      Event = WaitWindowEvent()
    Until Event = #PB_Event_CloseWindow
   
  Else
    Debug "Dialog error: " + DialogError(0)
  EndIf
Else
  Debug "XML error: " + XMLError(0) + " (Line: " + XMLErrorLine(0) + ")"
EndIf

Author:  kurzer [ Thu Mar 19, 2020 9:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

Sorry Sicro,
I have unfortunately only seen your PN today.
The dialogue looks very good on my system. Image

Image

Kurzer

Author:  kurzer [ Fri Mar 20, 2020 7:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

In the current beta 3, the dialogue unfortunately looks worse again.

There are no line breaks in the labels, but the combo boxes are too high again on my 125% scaled system and also the left border to the fixed frame is too wide.

Image

According to the beta 3 announcement this bug should be fixed:
Quote:
- Fix display errors in window '#WINDOW_Form_Parent' of the FormDesigner (Sicro) https://github.com/fantaisie-software/purebasic/pull/50

Greetings,
"Shorty"

Author:  Sicro [ Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

kurzer wrote:
In the current beta 3, the dialogue unfortunately looks worse again.
I have not yet found the time to integrate the Dialog-Lib variant. Tomorrow I will have time for it.

kurzer wrote:
According to the beta 3 announcement this bug should be fixed:
Quote:
- Fix display errors in window '#WINDOW_Form_Parent' of the FormDesigner (Sicro) https://github.com/fantaisie-software/purebasic/pull/50
The mentioned pull request on GitHub is old and has already been integrated in Beta 2.

Author:  kurzer [ Fri Mar 20, 2020 10:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

Sicro wrote:
The mentioned pull request on GitHub is old and has already been integrated in Beta 2.

Oh okay, thank you for clarify this. :)

Author:  Sicro [ Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

I have now integrated the changes and created a new pull request:
https://github.com/fantaisie-software/purebasic/pull/83

Author:  kurzer [ Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

Wow, that was fast. Image
Thank you very much for your contribution, Sicro.

By the way: Do you know if the proposal on GitHub to make the PureBasic IDE independent from the necessary C compilations is already being worked on?
I haven't followed it up.

Stay well!
Kurzer

Author:  Sicro [ Tue Mar 24, 2020 7:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PB 572 b1: IDE Formdesigner display problem setting pare

kurzer wrote:
By the way: Do you know if the proposal on GitHub to make the PureBasic IDE independent from the necessary C compilations is already being worked on?
I haven't followed it up.
The work is in progress. More off-topic via PN, please.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/