Bug with fonts for StringGadgets?

Windows specific forum
Dude
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1907
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Bug with fonts for StringGadgets?

Post by Dude »

Fred wrote:I don't think it's a PB issue
ccode wrote:I also do not see it as a bug
Can I convince you both with this example? :twisted:

Code: Select all

OpenWindow(0,200,200,320,120,"Exact same font, different gadgets",#PB_Window_SystemMenu)

f=LoadFont(1,"@DFPOP1-W12",13,#PB_Font_Underline)

StringGadget(1,10,10,300,40,"Underlined StringGadget")
SetGadgetFont(1,f)

EditorGadget(2,10,60,300,40)
SetGadgetText(2,"Underlined EditorGadget")
SetGadgetFont(2,f)

Repeat : Until WaitWindowEvent()=#PB_Event_CloseWindow
Image
RASHAD
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 4636
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 6:27 am

Re: Bug with fonts for StringGadgets?

Post by RASHAD »

Hi Dude
It can be when Windows can not find the mentioned font and sub. it with another font
Try any known font like Tahoma or Arial and see the result
Egypt my love
Dude
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1907
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Bug with fonts for StringGadgets?

Post by Dude »

But Windows obviously did find the font because it's shown correctly in the EditorGadget. Just not shown correctly in the StringGadget. And as mentioned in my first post, the underline font works in other apps, such as Paint Shop Pro. Just not in PureBasic's StringGadget. It can't get any more obvious than that.

Other fonts work fine. The problem is, my app has a font preview feature, and if customers are previewing with underline, and no underline appears, then I'm going to start getting support emails saying my app is buggy. :(
RASHAD
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 4636
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 6:27 am

Re: Bug with fonts for StringGadgets?

Post by RASHAD »

To be sure Run font from control panel and search for yours before you judge the effect (Search also if that font has underline too)
And do not depend on instantaneous install(check if the font file in the fonts folder)
Then if it still there we can give it more investigation
And do not get sad :)
Egypt my love
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16619
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Bug with fonts for StringGadgets?

Post by Fred »

Could you try with an EDIT control with API and see what happen ?
User avatar
skywalk
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3972
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Bug with fonts for StringGadgets?

Post by skywalk »

No problem with PB v57b4 on Windows 10 Pro.
No api required.
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum
Post Reply