It is currently Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:35 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBasic?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:36 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:07 am
Posts: 587
Location: Near Hamburg
At first, yes I am one of the Windows spy update paranoics.

This website claims Visual Studio 2015 C++ Compiler secretly inserts Telemetry Code Into Binaries.

https://yro.slashdot.org/story/16/06/10 ... o-binaries

So I ask myself which Version was used to create the current PureBasic Version and how does it have effect at the programs we create with PureBasic?

_________________
PB 5.73 x64, OS: Windows 7 Pro x64, Desktopscaling: 125%, CPU: I7 6500, RAM: 16 GB, GPU: Intel Graphics HD 520, User age: 52y
"Happiness is a pet." | "Never run a changing system!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:45 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:10 am
Posts: 1672
slashdot.org wrote:
... discovered recently that Visual Studio 2015 C++ compiler was inserting calls to a Microsoft telemetry function into binaries. "I compiled a simple program with only main(). When looking at the compiled binary in IDA, I see a call for telemetry_main_invoke_trigger and telemetry_main_return_trigger.

FWIW no files in the Purebasic 5.42 LTS package contain the word "telemetry" in any shape or form, my guess is i dont think it's an issue at all for PB or PB users, definitely something to keep an eye out for though when using VS2015 so many thanks for the alert! I'm trying to install VS2015 today but having problems registering, think i'll just stick with 2013 2010 and 2008 lol, only need it for building libs for PB anyway

_________________
Thankyou to all the coders who generously helped & encouraged me in the nearly 2yrs when i was welcome here,
it was a tremendous privilege. I learned a lot. I wish you and your families all the best and success for the future.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 5:06 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:55 am
Posts: 938
Location: UA
kurzer wrote:
At first, yes I am one of the Windows spy update paranoics.

This website claims Visual Studio 2015 C++ Compiler secretly inserts Telemetry Code Into Binaries.

https://yro.slashdot.org/story/16/06/10 ... o-binaries

So I ask myself which Version was used to create the current PureBasic Version and how does it have effect at the programs we create with PureBasic?


That website is fully right.
In past MS only inserted it's spy trash into PE header of executables (Rich Signature), now it come much far and modifies your code.
But It seems that 2010 and 2013 VC are clean of that.

The PB 5.40+ uses something from VC 2013 as I remember, and oldest versions were using 2010. Would be interesting to know details too, to be sure there are no any MS hit.

_________________
High hopes * Low expectations


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 5:11 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 am
Posts: 1773
Location: Canada
5th November 2012 : Version 5.00
- Updated: Use of VC++ 2010 instead of VC++ 2005 to compile the Windows libraries (32-bit and 64-bit), resulting of better optimized code

16th October 2015 : Version 5.40 LTS
- Updated: the Windows compiler to VC++ 2013 for better code generation


;)

_________________
ʽʽSuccess is almost totally dependent upon drive and persistence. The extra energy required to make another effort or try another approach is the secret of winning.ʾʾ --Dennis Waitley


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:05 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:10 am
Posts: 1672
Lunasole wrote:
In past MS only inserted it's spy trash into PE header of executables (Rich Signature)

very interesting! :)
Image

so the dword after "Rich" is used as the key to decrypt the rest of it by simple XOR

_________________
Thankyou to all the coders who generously helped & encouraged me in the nearly 2yrs when i was welcome here,
it was a tremendous privilege. I learned a lot. I wish you and your families all the best and success for the future.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:31 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:55 am
Posts: 938
Location: UA
Keya wrote:
so the dword after "Rich" is used as the key to decrypt the rest of it by simple XOR


Not only, here is full review and code to decrypt it:
http://www.ntcore.com/files/richsign.htm

_________________
High hopes * Low expectations


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:41 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:30 pm
Posts: 1998
Location: North Florida
kurzer wrote:
At first, yes I am one of the Windows spy update paranoics.

This website claims Visual Studio 2015 C++ Compiler secretly inserts Telemetry Code Into Binaries.

https://yro.slashdot.org/story/16/06/10 ... o-binaries

So I ask myself which Version was used to create the current PureBasic Version and how does it have effect at the programs we create with PureBasic?


Wasn't PB written in purely optimized ASM?! ;)

- np


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:15 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 14181
Location: France
We use VC 2013


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Which Version of Visual Studio was used to create PureBa
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:10 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 8:51 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Germany
Fred wrote:
We use VC 2013

@Fred,
is there a roadmap/plan about changing the Visual Studio version (maybe switch to VS2017 or VS2019)?

Thanks.

_________________
Belive!
<Wrapper>4PB, PB<game>, =QONK=, PetriDish, Movie2Image, PictureManager,...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye