Dreamotion3d (and PhysX) continuation...

Advanced game related topics
tmyke
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: France

Post by tmyke »

tmyke wrote: We try to solve the problem so that in the months to come, even old card can be run with DM3D.
:wink:
I say that, coming soon :wink:
Strength and wisdom.
Image
Chrono Syndrome
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:44 am
Contact:

Post by Chrono Syndrome »

OK, I will wait for it.
Don't try to catch ze Night !
Remember: 'z' is better zen 'th' =) !
Sorry for bad english.
tmyke
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: France

Post by tmyke »

Chrono Syndrome wrote:OK, I will wait for it.
We modified the code of Dreamotion3D to adapt itself better in old video card.
You can dowload and try the last version, and see if it run better...
:wink:
Strength and wisdom.
Image
Chrono Syndrome
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:44 am
Contact:

Post by Chrono Syndrome »

No, it doesn't. My PC still reboot after launching "Install.EXE".
Don't try to catch ze Night !
Remember: 'z' is better zen 'th' =) !
Sorry for bad english.
tmyke
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: France

Post by tmyke »

Try this, and say me what's happen ?

http://www.dreamotion3d.com/_downloads/ ... stDM3D.zip

:?:
Strength and wisdom.
Image
kawasaki
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:09 pm

Post by kawasaki »

Any news on whats going on, or when to expect the next update on the 3d renderer or even the physics lib?
dontmailme
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 537
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 10:35 am

Post by dontmailme »

Still doesn't work on my older card..... is there a memory requirement for the 3d card ?

Aldo the zip you posted gives a memory access violation :(

Still works great on my 7950GTX though :)
Paid up PB User !
Chrono Syndrome
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:44 am
Contact:

Post by Chrono Syndrome »

tmyke wrote:Try this, and say me what's happen ?

http://www.dreamotion3d.com/_downloads/ ... stDM3D.zip

:?:
Image
Don't try to catch ze Night !
Remember: 'z' is better zen 'th' =) !
Sorry for bad english.
tmyke
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: France

Post by tmyke »

kawasaki wrote:Any news on whats going on, or when to expect the next update on the 3d renderer
or even the physics lib?
There is an update of the engine almost every week, we work a lot.
The physical module will be updated certainly this summer.
dontmailme wrote:Still doesn't work on my older card..... is there a memory requirement for the 3d card ?
Aldo the zip you posted gives a memory access violation :(
Still works great on my 7950GTX though :)
somes video card run correctly (except shader):

ati radeon X600SE
GeForce4 TI 4200
9700pro
FX7400
ATI9600
6800 GT
FX5500
7900GT
A7600GT
ATI XPRESS 200
FX5600XT
FX5200LE
Intel 945g
7950GTX

video card don't run :
S3 Virge
Matrox Millenium G550
;)

Here is the small code which normally opens asingle DX9 windows.
To try in Debug mode, and ...

Code: Select all

; with Dreglor contribution... 
;-------------------
;- Includes
;-------------------
IncludePath "Include"  :  IncludeFile "dreamotion3d.pbi"


;-------------------
;- Globals
;-------------------
Global *D3D.IDIRECT3D9
Global *D3DDevice.IDIRECT3DDEVICE9
Global Rendering.D3DPRESENT_PARAMETERS
Global Current.D3DDISPLAYMODE
Global DevCaps.d3dcaps9
Global BehaviorFlags
Global hwnd.l



InitMouse()

;-------------------
;- Procedures
;-------------------
Procedure InitD3D9()

  If hwnd = #Null
    
    *D3D = Direct3DCreate9(#D3D_SDK_VERSION)
    ProcedureReturn #True
  Else
    
    ProcedureReturn #False
  EndIf
EndProcedure

Procedure D3D9_OpenWindowedScreen(Window.l, x.l, y.l, Width.l, Height.l, Title.s, WindowFlags.l = #PB_Window_ScreenCentered | #PB_Window_MaximizeGadget | #PB_Window_MinimizeGadget | #PB_Window_TitleBar)
  
  If *D3D <> #Null And *D3DDevice = #Null
    
    If *D3DDevice <> #Null    
      ;Device Check
      *D3DDevice\Release()
      *D3DDevice = #Null
    EndIf
    
    If *D3D\GetAdapterDisplayMode(#D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, Current) = #D3D_Ok
      
      ;Back Buffer Check
      If *D3D\CheckDeviceType(#D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, #D3DDEVTYPE_HAL, Current\Format, Current\Format, #True) = #D3D_Ok
        
       ;Z-buffer Check
       If *D3D\CheckDeviceFormat(#D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, #D3DDEVTYPE_HAL, Current\Format, #D3DUSAGE_DEPTHSTENCIL, #D3DRTYPE_SURFACE, #D3DFMT_D24S8) = #D3D_Ok
          
        If *D3D\GetDeviceCaps(#D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, #D3DDEVTYPE_HAL, DevCaps) = #D3D_Ok
            
            If DevCaps\VertexProcessingCaps <> 0
              
              BehaviorFlags = BehaviorFlags | #D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING ;if it can
            Else
              
              BehaviorFlags = BehaviorFlags | #D3DCREATE_SOFTWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING ;if it can't
            EndIf
        Else
            Debug "GetDeviceCaps Failed"
            ProcedureReturn #False
        EndIf
          
          hwnd = OpenWindow(Window, x, y, Width, Height, Title, WindowFlags)
          
          If hwnd <> #Null
          
            Rendering\BackBufferCount = 1
            Rendering\MultiSampleType = #D3DMULTISAMPLE_NONE
            Rendering\MultiSampleQuality = 0
            Rendering\SwapEffect = #D3DSWAPEFFECT_DISCARD
            Rendering\hDeviceWindow = hwnd
            Rendering\flags = #Null
            Rendering\FullScreen_RefreshRateInHz = #D3DPRESENT_RATE_DEFAULT 
            Rendering\PresentationInterval = #D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_ONE
            Rendering\BackBufferFormat = Current\Format
            Rendering\EnableAutoDepthStencil = #True
            Rendering\AutoDepthStencilFormat = #D3DFMT_D24S8
            Rendering\Windowed = #True
            Rendering\BackBufferWidth = 0
            Rendering\BackBufferHeight = 0

            If *D3D\CreateDevice(#D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, #D3DDEVTYPE_HAL, hwnd, BehaviorFlags, Rendering, @*D3DDevice) = #D3D_Ok
              
              ProcedureReturn #True
            Else
              
              Debug "Creation of the device failed"
              CloseWindow(Window)
              ProcedureReturn #False
            EndIf
          Else
            
            Debug "Window Failed"
            ProcedureReturn #False
          EndIf
        Else
          
          Debug "z-buffer does not work"
          ProcedureReturn #False
        EndIf
      Else
        
        Debug "the back buffer format failed"
        ProcedureReturn #False
      EndIf
    Else
      
      Debug "Failed to get the current mode"
      ProcedureReturn #False
    EndIf
  Else
    
    Debug "D3D not initilized!"
    ProcedureReturn #False
  EndIf
EndProcedure

Procedure Shutdown(Window)
  DM_ClearGraphics()
  If IsWindow(Window) 
    CloseWindow(Window)
  EndIf

  ProcedureReturn #True
EndProcedure



;----------------
;- Main Loop
;----------------
If InitD3D9() = #True
  If D3D9_OpenWindowedScreen(0, 10, 10, 640, 480, "DirectX For PB: Initilization")  = #True
  
  
    ; set parameters dreamotion engine with params initialized by directx
    Repeat
	
    Until WindowEvent() = #PB_Event_CloseWindow
  EndIf
EndIf
Shutdown(0)
End
Strength and wisdom.
Image
Chrono Syndrome
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:44 am
Contact:

Post by Chrono Syndrome »

Here is the small code which normally opens asingle DX9 windows.
To try in Debug mode, and ...
Well, zis code works for me.
Don't try to catch ze Night !
Remember: 'z' is better zen 'th' =) !
Sorry for bad english.
tmyke
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: France

Post by tmyke »

Great, it's a good new. Now, replace end the code by

Code: Select all

;----------------
;- Main Loop
;----------------
If InitD3D9() = #True
  If D3D9_OpenWindowedScreen(0, 10, 10, 640, 480, "DirectX For PB: Initilization")  = #True
  
    DM_SetDevices(hwnd, *D3D, *D3DDevice)
    DM_SetGraphics(@Rendering, 32, 0)
 
    ; set parameters dreamotion engine with params initialized by directx
    Repeat
	
    Until WindowEvent() = #PB_Event_CloseWindow
  EndIf
EndIf
Shutdown(0)
End
Strength and wisdom.
Image
Chrono Syndrome
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:44 am
Contact:

Post by Chrono Syndrome »

Still works.
Don't try to catch ze Night !
Remember: 'z' is better zen 'th' =) !
Sorry for bad english.
Dare
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Outback

Post by Dare »

Hi tymke

First:

Very nice website!


Second:

I registered online and downloaded everything in the PureBasic list.

I extracted from the dreammotion rar. I see lots of files, including an install.exe

Now some silly questions:

The install does what, and where?

The install is looking for a folder - is this folder the PureBasic folder or will any folder do?

When you cancel the install it says "impossible to install the dll" (or something similar) ..
.. it then does something and says "Installation successful" (or similar) ..
.. Do I need to hunt down some files installed in weird places and if so, which files and where?


BTW, with all the files already extracted can't they just be used? Is there a need to install?


Thanks!


From your website the package looks good.



** Now all I need is some software that magically turns me into an ace 3D artist (or even a poor 3D artist that at least knows how to create a 3D model). Anybody know of a place where I can update my brain with a "3d-guru" implant? **
Dare2 cut down to size
tmyke
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: France

Post by tmyke »

Chrono Syndrome wrote:Still works.
and this:

Code: Select all

;----------------
;- Main Loop
;----------------
If InitD3D9() = #True
  If D3D9_OpenWindowedScreen(0, 10, 10, 640, 480, "DirectX For PB: Initilization")  = #True
 
    DM_SetDevices(hwnd, *D3D, *D3DDevice)
    DM_SetGraphics(@Rendering, 32, 0)
  
  ; create camera
    *camera = DM_CreateCamera(0)
    DM_TranslateEntity(*camera, 0,3,-20)
    *cube=DM_CreateCube()
      
    ; set parameters dreamotion engine with params initialized by directx
    Repeat
   
	    DM_BeginScene()
	      DM_RenderWorld()
	    DM_EndScene()
   
    Until WindowEvent() = #PB_Event_CloseWindow
  EndIf
EndIf
Shutdown(0)
End
Dare wrote:The install does what, and where?
install DLL in the 'compiles' folder of PureBasic.
and a 'Dreamotion3D' folder with samples, include, media and doc.
Dare wrote:The install is looking for a folder - is this folder the PureBasic folder or will any
folder do?
folder the PureBasic, it's better ( we need compilers folder for DLL)

Dare wrote:When you cancel the install it says "impossible to install the dll" (or something similar) ..
.. it then does something and says "Installation successful" (or similar) ..
.. Do I need to hunt down some files installed in weird places and if so, which files and where?

The program of instalation will be improved soon, for better a flexibility.
You can install the files manually if you wish it.

:wink:
Strength and wisdom.
Image
Dare
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Outback

Post by Dare »

Hi tymke

Thanks for the quick response!

(And sorry for the silly questions) :)
Dare2 cut down to size
Post Reply