AmigaOS emulator?

AmigaOS specific forum
Irene
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 461
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:41 pm

Re: AmigaOS emulator?

Post by Irene »

maw wrote:
Irene wrote:and the point for replying to a 4 year old topic just to state about stuff that has already been talked about?
You don't know about the "revive threads after every 4 years or so" rule? What rock have you been hiding under?

:lol: :lol: :lol:
GREETINGS PROFESSOR FALKEN.

I have read the book ^.^
maw
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:45 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: AmigaOS emulator?

Post by maw »

Irene wrote:GREETINGS PROFESSOR FALKEN.

I have read the book ^.^
Good girl :mrgreen:
Foz
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1359
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by Foz »

Somebody's been playing with the Necrothreadicon again I seen. :roll:

If anyone spots Zombabes, please remember: aim for the head. :twisted:
Amiga5k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 329
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 8:57 pm

Re: AmigaOS emulator?

Post by Amiga5k »

http://www.amigaforever.com/

Their Amiga offerings range between $9.95US (Value Edition) and $49.95US (Premium Edition). Honestly, it's well worth the price if you are interested in running an Amiga emulation. As far as ROMs go, the Value Edition only includes the 1.3 ROM, but this is what 95% of the games out there require. If you're after Apps (such as the excellent Deluxe Paint: One of the easiest - and still powerful - to use paint programs ever), then you'll probably need at least version 2.04.

Good luck!

If you're thinking of doing a google search for the roms, be warned that it is sometimes difficult to find them (other times, not...).
*** Diapers and politicians need to be changed...for the same reason! ***
*** Make every vote equal: Abolish the Electoral College ***
*** www.au.org ***
PB
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 7581
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:24 pm

Re: AmigaOS emulator?

Post by PB »

WinUAE comes with ROMs, doesn't it? It did when I downloaded it (yes, from the legit site).
I compile using 5.31 (x86) on Win 7 Ultimate (64-bit).
"PureBasic won't be object oriented, period" - Fred.
Thorium
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1268
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:59 pm

Re:

Post by Thorium »

ShDancer wrote:
ivory wrote: Yes, that is correct but i think there is some kind of Legal time, for Copyright registration, and i think that time for amiga has expired,
1984-> 2004 = 20 Years, meaning its AbandonedWare only for the first versions.
But im not sure of this.
No. Amiga ROM's are still copyright protected and can still be licenced.
Copyright don't have to be registered. If you create something you automaticly have the copyright. You even don't have to write "Copyright by X" to it. You allways have the copyright.
PB wrote:WinUAE comes with ROMs, doesn't it? It did when I downloaded it (yes, from the legit site).
No, and it never came.
If you have a package downloaded with the ROM's, than it's not from the official website.
PB
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 7581
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:24 pm

Re: Re:

Post by PB »

> If you have a package downloaded with the ROM's, than it's not from the official website

I got it from www.winuae.net some time back. What else can I say?
I compile using 5.31 (x86) on Win 7 Ultimate (64-bit).
"PureBasic won't be object oriented, period" - Fred.
Thorium
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1268
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:59 pm

Re: Re:

Post by Thorium »

PB wrote: I got it from http://www.winuae.net some time back. What else can I say?
Maybe you remember wrong. They never had the ROM's included and there is a section in the readme telling you to get the ROM's from another place or dump them.
Foz
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1359
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: AmigaOS emulator?

Post by Foz »

I believe that copyright holds in effect for software is about 70 years. There is a heck of a long way to go before the amiga can be classed as public domain.
PB
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 7581
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:24 pm

Re: Re:

Post by PB »

> Maybe you remember wrong.

Nope. I've only ever used that site to get the app (it's the only place I know). I remember downloading it and seeing the ROMs inside and thinking maybe they were licensed to use them now. So if that's not the case, then I consider myself lucky to get a distro which did have them at the time. Whenever I unzip the distro to a blank folder, the ROMs are in there, ready to go, and I can launch the Amiga to the boot-screen (hand holding the floppy).

I can tell from your response that you obviously don't believe me, but them's the facts. I have no reason to lie to you. It's possible they made a mistake with a distro at some point -- the project was taken over by a new maintainer some time back. Maybe the distro I got was from the old maintainer.
I compile using 5.31 (x86) on Win 7 Ultimate (64-bit).
"PureBasic won't be object oriented, period" - Fred.
Post Reply