Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Linux specific forum
Saboteur
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: (Madrid) Spain
Contact:

Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by Saboteur »

I have linux Purebasic version 5.61 (x64), on Ubuntu 17.04.
Debug works perfectly until some days. Breakpoints works, but I cannot run step by step.

I think it is for some update, but I am not sure. Anyone with same problem, or it is only me?
[:: PB Registered ::]

Win10 Intel core i5-3330 8GB RAM Nvidia GTX 1050Ti
Saboteur
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: (Madrid) Spain
Contact:

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by Saboteur »

Anyone with this problem in Linux?

Thanks.
[:: PB Registered ::]

Win10 Intel core i5-3330 8GB RAM Nvidia GTX 1050Ti
User avatar
macros
User
User
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: Munich

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by macros »

I am using Kubuntu 17.04 and it works flawlessly here.

Maybe try it with a live disk and see if you can reproduce the problem on a clean setup,
if not, you know its something you have installed/running in the background.

Have you also tried to use Step by Step with the IDEs buttons?
Maybe its just something catching your F8 keypresses.
Saboteur
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: (Madrid) Spain
Contact:

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by Saboteur »

The IDE buttons get disabled, and F8 simply don't work.
If you pc works ok, I suppose there must be anything wrong in my machine. I'll try to investigate or reinstall pb.

Thank you.
[:: PB Registered ::]

Win10 Intel core i5-3330 8GB RAM Nvidia GTX 1050Ti
User avatar
macros
User
User
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: Munich

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by macros »

So I had time to do some testing and noticed that the buttons are greyed out for me in the following cases:

I stop the program during a delay call (The buttons are enabled as soon as the delay has passed)

The program is in a call to an external library. Here the buttons to become responsive after the call has finished.
This also seems to be the case if any thread accesses a external library. (Just quick testing)
So maybe your code gets stuck in an external call?
Saboteur
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: (Madrid) Spain
Contact:

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by Saboteur »

I discovered the problem.
When I execute OpenScreen(1920,1080,32,"") or another resolution, the debug commands and buttons deactivate. Yes, F8 also don't work. Can you check it please?

I don't know what is exactly the problem, because I was debuging the program flawlessly.

Could any system update modify purebasic debug?
[:: PB Registered ::]

Win10 Intel core i5-3330 8GB RAM Nvidia GTX 1050Ti
User avatar
macros
User
User
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: Munich

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by macros »

You are right, I can confirm it.
Also with Purebasic 4.44.

Here under Kubuntu I also cannot tab out of a screen.
Seems like you have a bug to report.

If I have time later today, I will try if the problem also exists with older Linux Versions in a VM
(because I haven't used the Screen library for ages)
Saboteur
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: (Madrid) Spain
Contact:

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by Saboteur »

I don't understand anything. I tested it in Windows and Mac, and have the same problem.
It must be a common problem, but I have a very long program and worked ok, because I had to debug a lot of functions. :shock:

So, is not possible debug a program when using OpenScreen() ?
[:: PB Registered ::]

Win10 Intel core i5-3330 8GB RAM Nvidia GTX 1050Ti
swhite
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 6:56 pm

Re: Works debug in Ubuntu 17.04?

Post by swhite »

Hi

I also experience this problem in PB 5.45 on Linux OpenSuse 43.2. Once the buttons are greyed out they never start working again, instead I have to restart PB.

Simon
Simon White
dCipher Computing
Post Reply