Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Everything related to 3D programming
pfaber11
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:17 pm

Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by pfaber11 »

Good Evening I am pretty new to this in PureBasic. I really don't see what is wrong with my code and was hoping somebody could take a look and hopefully explain where I'm going wrong . I have migrated from App Game Kit Studio and about 3 years ago I did write a small game in PureBasic but although I know a little about PureBasic I'm very much starting from the beginning . I've been at this for 3 weeks so far and I really have to succeed.
Here is the code which opens for about 4 seconds then quits for some reason .

Code: Select all

InitEngine3D()
InitSprite()
InitKeyboard()
InitMouse()
UsePNGImageDecoder()
UsePNGImageEncoder()
Add3DArchive("3darchive", #PB_3DArchive_FileSystem)


OpenScreen(1920,1080,32,"3db",#PB_Screen_NoSynchronization,60)

RenderWorld()
FlipBuffers()
LoadMesh(1,"window_dae.mesh")
LoadTexture(1,"hellow.png")
CreateMaterial(1,1)
CreateEntity(1,MeshID(1),MaterialID(1))
CreateCamera(1,0,0,100,100)
CreateLight(1,RGB(255,255,255),10,5,5)
CameraRange(1,1,1000)
CameraBackColor(1,#Green)
MoveEntity(1,10,10,10,#PB_Absolute)
CameraLookAt(1,10,10,10)
FlipBuffers()
Repeat
  
  CameraBackColor(1,#Green)
  
  If KeyboardPushed(#PB_Key_Escape)
    End 
    EndIf
 
  FlipBuffers()
ForEver
End
could somebody please take a look and point me in the right direction . thanks for reading .
Ampli
User
User
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by Ampli »

Hello, Something like this maybe...

Code: Select all

InitEngine3D()
InitSprite()
InitKeyboard()
InitMouse()

OpenScreen(1920,1080,32,"3db",#PB_Screen_NoSynchronization,60)
UsePNGImageDecoder()
UsePNGImageEncoder()
Add3DArchive("3darchive", #PB_3DArchive_FileSystem)

LoadMesh(1, "window_dae.mesh")
LoadTexture(1,"hellow.png")
CreateMaterial(1, TextureID(1))
CreateEntity(1,MeshID(1),MaterialID(1))
CreateCamera(1,0,0,100,100)
CreateLight(1,RGB(255,255,255),10,5,5)
CameraRange(1,1,1000)
CameraBackColor(1,#Green)
MoveEntity(1,10,10,10,#PB_Absolute)
CameraLookAt(1,10,10,10)

Repeat

	RenderWorld()
  	
  	ExamineKeyboard()
  	
  	If KeyboardPushed(#PB_Key_Escape)
    		End 
    	EndIf
 
 Delay(1) :  FlipBuffers()
ForEver
pfaber11
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:17 pm

Re: Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by pfaber11 »

Thanks I managed to get it working . Never used a debugger before but with it's help I was able to pick out the errors . Now I have something working I feel a lot better . The ups and downs(when nothing seems to work) of programming . Thanks again for your help. The entity I have turning and twisting about looks very smooth . Next it's text on the screen to tackle (failed at this so far but I'll nail that tommorow hopefully).
pfaber11
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:17 pm

Re: Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by pfaber11 »

Hi I fixed it in the end . Thanks for the replies .
User avatar
Shardik
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1984
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by Shardik »

pfaber11 wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 10:30 pm Hi I fixed it in the end . Thanks for the replies .
It would be nice if you would have posted the solution to your original problem for those that might have the same problem. Or you might have posted a link to your parallel thread at the syntaxbomb forum which contains several helpful comments.

You have described the solution for your original posting at the top of this PureBasic thread in the syntaxbomb thread:
Pfaber11 wrote:... I did learn now to use the debugger and it was create material that had the problem ...
pfaber11
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:17 pm

Re: Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by pfaber11 »

OK I will post solution ,

Code: Select all

InitEngine3D()
InitSprite()
InitKeyboard()

UsePNGImageDecoder()
UsePNGImageEncoder()
Add3DArchive("3darchive", #PB_3DArchive_FileSystem)
ExamineDesktops()

OpenWindow(1,0,0,1920,1080,"3db")
OpenWindowedScreen(WindowID(1),0,0,1920,1080)
SetFrameRate(60)
RenderWorld()
FlipBuffers()
LoadMesh(1,"window_dae.mesh")
;LoadTexture(1,"hellow1.png")
CreateMaterial(1,LoadTexture(1,"hellow1.png"))
CreateEntity(1,MeshID(1),MaterialID(1)) 
CreateCamera(1,0,0,100,100)
CreateLight(1,RGB(255,255,255),10,10,1)
CameraRange(1,1,100)
CameraBackColor(1,#Green)

MoveEntity(1,5,10,10,#PB_Absolute)
CameraLookAt(1,5,10,10)
  TextGadget(1,200,200,100,100,"Bonjour")
 
RenderWorld()
a=1
FlipBuffers()
Repeat
  a=a+2
  If a >=360 
    a=1
  EndIf
  b=b+3
  If b>=360
    b=1
    EndIf
  
  RotateEntity(1,a,a,b)
 ExamineKeyboard() 
  If KeyboardPushed(#PB_Key_Escape)
    End
  EndIf
  WindowEvent()
  If WindowEvent()=(#PB_Event_CloseWindow)
    End 
    EndIf
RenderWorld()
  FlipBuffers()
ForEver 

Where it says create material would not work until I altered it and now does work fine . Strange but true the command on the next line up is edited out . I'm hoping PB 6 will be finished when I'm ready to create. Thanks for your time.
pfaber11
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:17 pm

Re: Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by pfaber11 »

Yes indeed I will . I have found it slow in this forum which was why the dual thread . Although a few on syntax bomb use PB . I will come here often and maybe answer some questions when I know exactly what I'm doing.
pfaber11
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:17 pm

Re: Screen opens for only a few seconds.

Post by pfaber11 »

I intend to visit this forum often and post regularly. Really looking forward to using PureBasic 6 when it is out of beta testing . Have a nice day.
Post Reply