plistTool for OS X

Applications, Games, Tools, User libs and useful stuff coded in PureBasic
Rinzwind
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 636
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:06 pm
Location: NL

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by Rinzwind »

The xml notation doesn't seem to work anymore in Majove.
To set something other than a string, you can use XML notation like this
Code:
;@@ <key>CFBundleTypeExtensions</key>
;@@ <array>
;@@ <string>ext</string>
;@@ </array>
Hmm doesn't seem to work reliably. The debug windows shows the value, the app not. (yep have also included 'after create executable'
User avatar
J. Baker
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by J. Baker »

Unfortunately my MacBook can not go any higher than High Sierra. I'm unable to update this tool now. :(
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.
wilbert
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 3870
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 5:21 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by wilbert »

Rinzwind wrote:The debug windows shows the value, the app not. (yep have also included 'after create executable'
I just tried and it worked fine (macOS 10.14.6, PB 5.71 x64).
The plistTool app did show the current value. :?
Windows (x64)
Raspberry Pi OS (Arm64)
Rinzwind
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 636
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:06 pm
Location: NL

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by Rinzwind »

Just for info: seems like the plist is not always updated correctly (or missing values) when recompiling even if the preview shows the correct result. It seems to help to disable the debug window with ;@@ DisableDebugWindow . Maybe some file is still in use or something.

Also can't make the array stuff work..

;@@ DisableDebugWindow
;@@ LSApplicationCategoryType = public.app-category.utilities
;@@ CFBundleDevelopmentRegion = English
;@@ CFBundleExecutable = t1
;@@ NSHumanReadableCopyright = copyright
;@@ CFBundleIdentifier = nl.test.t1
;@@ CFBundleName = t1
;@@ CFBundleShortVersionString = 1.0.0
;@@ <key>CFBundleTypeExtensions</key>
;@@ <array>
;@@ <string>t1</string>
;@@ </array>

MessageRequester("Test", "Test")


CFBundleTypeExtensions is not added to the plist in the .app.
Rinzwind
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 636
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:06 pm
Location: NL

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by Rinzwind »

Another plist utility. Moved to its own topic...
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=74209
User avatar
HeX0R
Addict
Addict
Posts: 980
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Hell

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by HeX0R »

How can I copy resources to a subfolder with this tool?
I tried to add all resources from a subfolder, like:

Code: Select all

;@R Addons/
But the tool seems to copy all content of Addons just to the root resources folder, but I would like it to be in Resources/Addons afterwards.
Is there any (hidden) option to respect the folder structure?
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by mk-soft »

One should already take the folder structure of the APP as it is intended.
This means "MyAPP.APP/Contents/Resources". Everything that contains additional files to be read can be placed in this folder (including subfolders).

Settings of programmes then in the folder "GetUserDirectory(#PB_Directory_ProgramData)".
I then always create a folder called "Company/Application" in this folder.

Copy on fly. PB IDE Tool MyAppData
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
Wolfram
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 4:39 pm

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by Wolfram »

J. Baker wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:45 pm Unfortunately my MacBook can not go any higher than High Sierra. I'm unable to update this tool now. :(
Hello J. Baker,

any there any news for the plistTool on Majove and higher?
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Rinzwind
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 636
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:06 pm
Location: NL

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by Rinzwind »

Wolfram
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 4:39 pm

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by Wolfram »

I have now written my own. It is more flexible.

https://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewto ... 585319#top
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
User avatar
J. Baker
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: plistTool for OS X

Post by J. Baker »

Wolfram wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 5:42 pm
J. Baker wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:45 pm Unfortunately my MacBook can not go any higher than High Sierra. I'm unable to update this tool now. :(
Hello J. Baker,

any there any news for the plistTool on Majove and higher?
Sorry for the delay. I've been using Windows and have not upgraded or purchased a new Mac.
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.
Post Reply