PureBasic 6.00 released !

Developed or developing a new product in PureBasic? Tell the world about it.
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16617
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 7 released !

Post by Fred »

10 min is a lot, did you turned on the optimizations ? May be an antivirus/malware issue ?
User avatar
DeanH
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 4:57 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 7 released !

Post by DeanH »

Optimization is off. Someone suggested turning it off previously. Threadsafe off. OnError off. Modern themes on. Rest is off.

The PC is a Win10-21H2 Intel i5, about 4 years old, 8Gb RAM, 3.40Ghz CPU 4 cores. SSD C: and D: drives.
I am using Beta 7.

Coretex is mandated here and it can throw false positives, but I do not think that is causing the slow compiling. See below.

Source code is 2.5Mb consisting of 1 main .pb file and 50 .pbi include files, plus some images.
The compiled exe is just over 7Mb with asm.

I have just run another test.
If I just do F5 to compile > run, a compilation exe of about 9.7Mb is produced and the program runs.
It always crashes with an IDE error when trying to compile to an exe. I have not yet worked out why but I suspect some of the include files have assembly code, like rotate image and list icon gadget sort.
With optimize on, the time to compile from pressing F5 was 5 and 1/2 minutes. I sat here and watched the clock.
Once it compiled, the program ran perfectly at normal speed.
Optimize off took over 4 minutes to compile.
Compiling using asm x64 was 4 seconds.

I found a copy of the 6.00 Beta 1 setup and tried that. Compiling 64-bit with the C compiler is 30 seconds. Same source code. I haven't kept the previous beta test releases to try but I think it was about this speed with Beta 5.
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16617
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 7 released !

Post by Fred »

That's weird, we didn't changed the gcc compiler in between. I will run some test here and see if i can see the same difference between beta 1 and 7
User avatar
DeanH
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 4:57 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 7 released !

Post by DeanH »

Sure is strange. I verified the problem last night. I tried it on my home PC - which is a high-performance machine. CPU is i7, 8 core running at 4.3Ghz with SSD drives and 16Gb ram. Same version of Windows 10 21H2. I only have Defender and Malware Bytes and both are set to exclude the folder being used. I used a stop watch to time compiling. Took almost 3 minutes with the C- backend compiler. I know it didn't take that long before.

As I said, I have not kept the setup files for the previous beta versions. The only one I found and tested was for Beta 1, which gave 30 seconds. I think Beta 4 or 5 was the same as that but not sure about Beta 6.
deviousduck
New User
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 12:13 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 7 released !

Post by deviousduck »

Just tested Beta 7 x64 on MacOS.

Source code compiles and runs fine. but it seems that Listview gadgets no longer work with VoiceOver.

Tested with 5.73LTE. and Listviews still work fine with VoiceOver.

D
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 7 released !

Post by mk-soft »

The problem is that PB uses a separate Cell object for ListViewGadget and ListIconGadget. PBIconTextCell'. This is not compatible with the standard cell of the NSTableView.
Last edited by mk-soft on Thu May 26, 2022 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16617
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by Fred »

Beta 8 is out, with some more changes and improvements:

Code: Select all

- Changed the Mouse library on Windows to use RawInput instead of DirectX to support HighDPI mouse
- Added auto DPI support for Menu and ToolBar library (Windows)
- Fixed the IDE for High DPI (Windows)
- Removed ToolBarStandardButton() as it doesn't support high DPI and is very bad looking
User avatar
marcoagpinto
Addict
Addict
Posts: 939
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:01 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by marcoagpinto »

Fred wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 pm Beta 8 is out, with some more changes and improvements:

Code: Select all

- Changed the Mouse library on Windows to use RawInput instead of DirectX to support HighDPI mouse
- Added auto DPI support for Menu and ToolBar library (Windows)
- Fixed the IDE for High DPI (Windows)
- Removed ToolBarStandardButton() as it doesn't support high DPI and is very bad looking
Hello Fred!

Has the window size issue in Ubuntu 22.04LTS been fixed?

Thanks for your hard work!
User avatar
Paul
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 1243
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:34 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by Paul »

Fred wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 pm Beta 8 is out, with some more changes and improvements:

Code: Select all

- Removed ToolBarStandardButton() as it doesn't support high DPI and is very bad looking
So will there be a replacement for this or will PureBasic 6 not be backward compatible in this area?
Image Image
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by mk-soft »

Paul wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 4:49 pm
Fred wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 pm Beta 8 is out, with some more changes and improvements:

Code: Select all

- Removed ToolBarStandardButton() as it doesn't support high DPI and is very bad looking
So will there be a replacement for this or will PureBasic 6 not be backward compatible in this area?
Was for macOS. Adapt it a little and it should run.
Module ToolBarStandardButton ...
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
User avatar
ChrisR
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:27 pm
Location: France

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by ChrisR »

Fred wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 pm Beta 8 is out, with some more changes and improvements:

Code: Select all

- Removed ToolBarStandardButton() as it doesn't support high DPI and is very bad looking
ToolBarStandardButton() is still in the help with examples.
Is there a possibility to have an equivalent to #PB_ToolBarIcon_New, Open,... #PB_ToolBarImage_New: LoadImage(#PB_ToolBarIcon_New, #PB_Compiler_Home + "examples/sources/Data/ToolBar/New.png")
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by mk-soft »

marcoagpinto wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 4:46 pm Hello Fred!

Has the window size issue in Ubuntu 22.04LTS been fixed?

Thanks for your hard work!
Test it yourself ... but

Yes, Wayland is fixed. And CSS Style adjusted for smaller ButtonGadget, StringGadget and PanelGadget Title height.

@Fred
Thanks for the very much work
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
JHPJHP
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2129
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:47 am
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by JHPJHP »

Moved to BUG REPORTS.
Last edited by JHPJHP on Sun May 29, 2022 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
thyphoon
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 2:37 pm

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by thyphoon »

Thanks for this great work 🥰 I love to see Purebasic evolued

I have some problem with the new mouse rawinput and 2 monitors.
when in move in my game the cursor to the right a second cursor appear on the second monitor, and if i Click in ma game , it click on the second monitor too 😅
User avatar
Psychophanta
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4968
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:33 pm
Location: Lípetsk, Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Beta 8 released !

Post by Psychophanta »

Thankyou all, my beloved PB team :) :) :) :) :)
http://www.zeitgeistmovie.com

While world=business:world+mafia:Wend
Will never leave this forum until the absolute bugfree PB :mrgreen:
Post Reply