Incredible SQLite speed

Share your advanced PureBasic knowledge/code with the community.
Janni
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Incredible SQLite speed

Post by Janni »

I'm just learning myself SQL with PB and tried to import a text file with 561.476 lines (splitted into 3 columns).
After some 15 minutes I stopped the job and by then it had imported around 183.000 lines.

Then I found a tip from grabiller in 2012 in this forum where you can use BEGIN and COMMIT with SQLite

Code: Select all

DatabaseUpdate( dbid, "BEGIN;" )

DatabaseUpdate( dbid, "INSERT INTO ../.." )
DatabaseUpdate( dbid, "INSERT INTO ../.." )
; ../..

DatabaseUpdate( dbid, "COMMIT;" )
After this change, the job of importing 561.476 rows took under 6 seconds! :shock:
This is totally amazing to me on my old computer....
Spec: Linux Mint 20.3 Cinnamon, i7-3770K, 16GB RAM, RTX 2070 Super
Paul
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert

Re: Incredible SQLite speed

Post by Paul »

Another SQLite speedup trick is to put these two commands before you start Inserting data

DatabaseUpdate(db,"PRAGMA Journal_Mode=OFF;")
DatabaseUpdate(db,"PRAGMA synchronous=0;")
It turns Inserting hundreds of thousands of lines of data from many minutes into a few seconds.
Image Image
spikey
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by spikey »

Janni wrote: Fri Aug 05, 2022 11:30 pm After some 15 minutes I stopped the job and by then it had imported around 183.000 lines.
This is because SQLite automatically embeds most commands inside a separate transaction if you don't explicitly begin one, see https://www.sqlite.org/lang_transaction.html. So what you were originally doing was:

BEGIN
  INSERT INTO
COMMIT
BEGIN
  INSERT INTO
COMMIT...
and you changed this to:

BEGIN
  INSERT INTO
  INSERT INTO...
COMMIT